RSS Feed

Chicken Burgers With a Kick

Wow! It’s been a long time since my last post! Sorry everybody! Well, I promise that these burgers were worth the wait. They were SO easy! Okay on with the recipe.

Ingredients:
Trader Joe’s Roasted Chicken Patties (they’re pre-cooked, and I found them in the refrigerated meat section)
Sliced crimini mushrooms
Guacamole
Trader Joe’s sliced pepper jack (I’ve tried others and I’ve found that Trader Joe’s has the least spicy pepper jack)
Lettuce
Trader Joe’s Michette rolls
Mayo

On the side:
Trader Joe’s frozen “Bean so Green”

20111127-194434.jpg

Method:

(I forgot to take pictures while I was cooking so bear with me.)

First, you might want to use a cast iron grill skillet to make things easier. If you don’t have one I’m sure any pan will do, but this is what I used:

20111127-200349.jpg

Okay, after you pick your pan grill the mushrooms on medium heat until they’re soft. I cooked mine for about 3-5 minutes on each side. Put them on a plate or something and cook the burgers. I did about 5 minutes on each side. Turn the heat down a little and put a slice of cheese on each pattie. Cook until the cheese melts.
While the cheese is melting, toast the buns a little (if you want) and also throw the mushrooms back in the pan to warm them back up.

Assemble your burgers the way you like them! I did a light layer of mayo, burger with cheese, mushrooms, guacamole, lettuce.

20111127-201614.jpg

To make this edible for your finger foodie just cut it up into small pieces. I don’t think it’s too spicy for them (I’be seen babies eat some pretty spicy stuff!) but if you’re worried about the spice you can substitute avocado for the guacamole, and regular jack for the pepper jack.

To add some veggies on the side, I just warmed up some Trader Joe’s frozen “Bean so Green” in the microwave. It doesn’t get much easier than that! I probably spent a total of ten minutes making dinner tonight, and it was delicious!

20111127-200522.jpg

Leave a Reply

